Kookie

The nickname of Gerald Lloyd Kookson, III (Edward “Edd” Byrnes), the parking lot attendant for Dino’s restaurant who regularly appeared on the detective drama 77 SUNSET STRIP/ABC/1958-64.

kookie-77-sunset-strip

Kookie, who was constantly running a comb through his hair, was a handsome, young hipster who assisted private investigators, Stuart Bailey (Efrem Zimbalist, Jr.) and Jeff Spencer (Roger Smith). Their office was located next to Dino’s Restaurant at 77 Sunset Strip in Hollywood.

Kookie’s colorful beatnik phrases were the highlight of the program. Some examples included:

  • Dreamboats – Pretty girls
  • Stash the chariot – Park the car
  • It’s real nervous – Great/terrific
  • Headache grapplers – Aspirin
  • A Washington – One dollar bill
  • Mushroom People – Night crowd
  • The ginchiest – The greatest
  • Piling up the Z’s – Sleeping
  • Keep the eyeballs rolling – Be on the lookout
  • Play like a pigeon – Deliver a message
  • A dark seven – Depressing week
  • Antsville – Place crowded with people
  • Smogland – Los Angeles
  • Make with the King’s Jive – Speak English
  • Buzzed by Germsville – To be sick
  • Smoggin’ in the noggin’– To be confused
  • Bon appetite in Pizzaville – To eat Italian food
  • Endsville – Quitting time

Note: Kookie was hired as an investigator during the 1961-62 season. When he left the series, Kookie was replaced by another “cool” character named J. R. Hale (Robert Logan) who had his own gimmicky way of communicating. J.R. “talk” (initial-ese) consisted of abbreviations and initials. For example, when J.R. wanted to say “Nothing to it” he said, “N.T.I.” Other examples: B&S. (Bailey and Spencer); U.A.M. (Unknown At Moment)…get the idea?

Kookie’s narcissistic habit of combing his hair inspired a 1959 hit Warner Brothers 45 rpm rock and roll recording “Kookie, Kookie (Lend Me Your Comb).”

In the song, a girl (Connie Stevens) continually asks Kookie to put down his comb so she can get romantic. The song was originally performed during the opening episode of the 1959-60 season when Kookie helped Stuart Bailey (Efrem Zimbalist, Jr.) catch a jewel thief.


Conversation between Connie Stevens and Edward “Edd” Byrnes as Kookie in the song.

Connie: Kookie, Kookie, lend me your comb. Kookie, Kookie?
Edward: Well now, let’s take it from the top & grab some wheels & on the way we’ll talk about some cuckoo deals.
Connie: But Kookie, Kookie, lend me your comb. Kookie, Kookie?
Edward: Now you’re on the way, miss, & I’m readin’ you just fine. Don’t cut out of here till we get on Cloud 9.
Connie: But Kookie?
Edward: I’ve got smog in my noggin ever since you made the scene
Connie: You’re the utmost!
Edward: If you ever tool me out…dead, I’m the saddest, like a brain
Connie: The very utmost. Kookie, lend me your comb. Kookie, Kookie?
Edward: Man, I got my bruise lighters in my flapsy-colored pen You’re gonna send me to that planet called… you know it, baby, the end!

kookie-comb

Connie: Kookie, Kookie, lend me your comb. Kookie, Kookie?
Edward: If you ever cut out, you might be a stray cat ‘Cause when I’m flyin’ solo, nowhere’s we’re on that!
Connie: Kookie, Kookie, lend me your comb. Kookie, Kookie?
Edward: What’s with this comb caper, baby? Why do you wanna latch up with my comb?
Connie: I just want you to stop combing your hair…& kiss me. You’re the maximum utmost.
Edward: Well, I beans & I dreams goin’, I’m movin’ right now ‘Cause that’s the kind of scene that I dig…baby, you’re the ginchiest!


See also – “Kookie, Kookie, Lend Me Your Comb” – Song @ You Tube

About

Born in Philadelphia, Jerome Alphonse Holst worked 30 years as a librarian. He has since retired and lives in Greensboro, North Carolina. Mr. Holst is also the author of the children’s books “Norman the Troll,” "Norman the Troll and the Haunted House," and "Gretchen and the Gremlins." In addition, he penned the fantasy novel “The Adventures of Glinda Gale,” a retelling of “The Wizard of Oz" and the reference text “The Encyclopedia of Movie and TV Insults.” .

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Workplace Nickname

Leave a Reply

